A Hajj full of Warmth: Take your Kids along!

No matter how crazy it gets when dealing with kids,they shouldn’t be left behind when it comes to Hajj and Umrah. I personally feel it as not fulfilling their rights but I guess people who have kids might have different opinions…OR…perhaps they are too used to the blessings of kids that they no longer see them as a form of blessing and Imana. If you’re given a blessing, you’ll be asked about it. It’s a trust. Who knows this journey you take may be so blessed for your child that he/she becomes firm in ‘Eeman and become a leader of Mohsineen. I’m saying that because parents sometimes become lazy and underestimate their capabilities. You just have to be strong and have firm intention and inshaa’Allah He SWT will make it easy for you. Don’t just give up by listening to other people’s bad experiences. Learn from them and prepare beforehand…and of course, make tons of duaa. I also want to say that this is for parents who behave as if they are ‘disabled’ because of their kids. Astaghfirullah. I’ve seen mothers complain as if children are a disease. Please don’t say that. You’re being ungrateful that way. Ask those who don’t have kids. They’d be ready to give their right arms for it, you know?

Besides, taking them along is the best gift you can give them. It gives them a headstart in good deeds because they are not yet accountable for their misdoings. It’s also quality family time. I just thought these few pictures were very cute mashaa’Allah. The wholse idea gives a very warm touch to Hajj and its rites, subhanAllah.

***

 The saheeh Sunnah indicates that a child may do Hajj and be rewarded for it, but that does not count as the “Hajj of Islam” (obligatory Hajj). Muslim (2378) narrated that Ibn ‘Abbaas (may Allaah be pleased with him) said: A woman lifted up a child of hers and said: O Messenger of Allaah, is there Hajj for this one? He said: “Yes, and you will have the reward.” [Source]

***

 

May Allah SWT bless these parents, parents around the world and all parents-to-be.Ameen.

My request: Please include your children in ‘Ibadaat.  Just because they are cute and little, you’d think Shaytan would leave them alone. But no, that’s not the case! They too have souls that need nourishment. They too need to be saved from Shayateen.

***

Some relevant info for parents:

And Allah SWT Knows Best.

2 Responses to “A Hajj full of Warmth: Take your Kids along!”

  1. SubpanAllah! Insha’Allah my husband and I are planning on going to hajj next year and we will have a two year old at the time. I can’t fathom leaving my son behind and I want to take him. I’ve been looking all over the place for support and advice from individuals who have taken their children to hajj and everyone is so discouraging. Alhumdulilah I came upon this page. Do you know of anyone that has any stories to share?

  2. Asalamoalaykum Sister,

    Welcome to the blog and congratulations for making the intention for such a noble aim! May Allah SWT make it easy for you and your family.Ameen.

    I actually don’t know how people do it. I googled it up, you’d find that some people give the advice to not take kids along while others say it’s not that bad. Interestingly, those who give advice against haven’t ever taken their kids themselves so in my opinion their advice loses strength and credibility automatically. Allahu ‘Alam. Depends on your child, I would think. Some children have a natural disposition of getting annoyed sooner than other children who are happy most of the time.

    I’m not married or anything so I don’t know how challenging it is to have/raise kids (as much as I’ve heard stories about it). But there’s one thing I know and that is…I would want my child to get a headstart in his/her good deeds before he/she reaches puberty. I would also want to get the reward of my child’s Hajj. And these two things would be enough motivation for me because when your intention is strong & sincere, Allah SWT makes everything easy. I can never imagine depriving my child of the rewards that I’d be getting. Even the thought of it breaks my heart. In fact, I would be worried to leave him/her behind and he/she would be on my mind all the time and I wouldn’t be able to concentrate on my ‘Ibadaat.So my attitude towards this whole thing is very different. I have no idea how people are able to leave their kids behind. Qadr can’t be avoided and the challenges that are going to come your way during Hajj will come to you even if you leave him/her behind. What’s important to remember is that all challenges are from Allah SWT to test your level of patience. Therefore, if you plan to take your baby along, make sure you and your husband team up and get strong mentally inshaa’Allah to have realistic expectations of this trip. It’s going to require a team effort and it’s not fair that you, as a mother, has to deal with all the struggle.Inshaa’Allah, ask your husband to take part in it as well by reminding him of the benefits and rewards of patience.

    This is what you could do:
    – research a bit more (about vaccinations for the child etc.)
    – make a decision on pure intention
    – do Istikhara
    – leave it on Allah SWT & have tawakul

    ….and stop thinking about it. You can’t control everything but keep making duaa for a facilitated Hajj. Make duaa for your child too that Allah SWT makes him patient during this noble trip…keep reciting Quraan to him and protect him by reciting morning and evening duaas out loud when you’re next to him. Inshaa’Allah, Shaytan will stay away from him because really it’s Shaytan who annoys young kids and makes them cry/upset when their parents are doing ‘Ibadah. This in turn disturbs the parents and distracts them from many good deeds.

    May Allah SWT protect you and your family dear sister. Ameen.

    Please remember me and the rest of the Ummah in your duaas.

    Many duaas,
    -UmmS.
    P.S. I don’t use this blog anymore so please expect a delay in response.

Leave a Reply

