Quotes from Friday Night Meet-and-Greet

‘No one deserves your heart except Allah Subhanahu Wa’Ta’ala.’

-Sh. Mohammad al Faqih

‘The way we wait for Sh. Said, the Shia wait for the Mahdi.’

‘They call it an invitation. Here, we call it a challenge.’

-Sh. Kamal el Mekki

‘This is what we did (he was talking in reference to making C-city a bigger and stronger community). We:

– concentrated on people who were not coming to the Masjid

– made sure that our differences did not come in the way

– did not care what others would say

– concentrated on the youth (even played basketball with them until Fajr) and brought them back to Allah Subhanahu Wa’ Ta’la

Allah gave you success and talent! Be who you are and love each other for the Sake of Allah. Put aside your differences!’

-Sh. Said Rageah

‘Abu Idris al-Khawlani said, “I entered the mosque of Damascus and there was a young man with white teeth there with some other people. When they disagreed about something, they referred it to him and followed his opinion. I inquired about him and it was said, ‘That is Mu’adh ibn Jabal.’ The following day, I went early and I found that he had come earlier than me and I found him praying. I waited for him until he finished his prayer and then I approached him from the front. I greeted him and then said, ‘By Allah, I love you for the sake of Allah.’ He said, ‘By Allah?’ I said, ‘By Allah.’ He said, ‘By Allah?’ I said, ‘By Allah.’ He took hold of the upper part of my cloak and pulled me to him. He said, ‘Rejoice! I heard the Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, say, “Allah Almighty says, ‘My love is mandatory for those who love one another in Me and sit together for My sake and who visit one another for My sake and who give generously to to one another for My sake.’ ”  [Muwatta’]’

‘Just for the benefit of Sh. Kamal, who is actually American so maybe he’s unaware of this. Canada’s still technically British(in ref. to the Queen we all share). I’ve only come home from home.’

-Sh. Ahsan Hanif

‘Never look at opportunities (to help your Deen) as a burden. It is infact a huge blessing. Abu Bakr RA wept out of happiness when he got the permission to accompany the Prophet SAW as they hid in the cave. Even though it was a life threatening journey.’

‘ ‘Well-rounded’ people like us like the cold (of C-city).’

‘…these Shaykhs *points towards all of them* probably praised Allah Subhanahu Wa’Ta’ala more than me…’ (this is what the Shaykh said as he ended the talk and it just shows that all of them are silently competing in glorification of Allah SWT in their speeches…subhanAllah. That’s an excellent thing to aim for even in our daily conversations.)

-Sh. Abdulbary Yahya

***
It brings a smile to my face everytime I watch the video. It was a nice light-hearted ‘meet and greet’ and mashaa’Allah left us wanting for more.

May Allah SWT bless all of them ,those who attended and those watched the video with Rafeeqal ‘Ala.Ameen.

Leave a Reply

