‘O Evil Old Man! Do you know WHY I forgave you?’

Abu Bakr as-Saidalaani reported that he heard Salim bin Mansur bin ‘Ammar say,

“Upon seeing my father in a dream, I asked him, ‘What did your Lord do with you?’

 

He answered : ‘Indeed, my Lord drew me near and close and he said to me:

‘O evil Shaykh (old man), Do you know why I forgave you?’

I said: ‘No, O my Lord.’

He said : ‘You sat before people in a gathering one day and you made them cry. Among them was one of my slaves who had never before cried from fear of me and so I forgave him and forgave everyone in the gathering for him; and you were among the ones I donated to him (among the ones that I forgave for him)’

[Sifatus-Safwah 2/ 204]

Source: Salaf Stories

***
SubhanAllah. How one’s tears can be a means of salvation…just in one gathering.

Umar bin Khattab RA had marks on his cheeks out of the countless times he wept out of fear of his Rabb.

How many times have we cried out of fear of His Punishment?

That’s a thought worth pondering this Friday and the rest of the weekend.

When they are cast therein, they will hear the (terrible) drawing in of its breath as it (fire) blazes forth. It almost bursts up with fury. Every time a group is cast therein, its keeper will ask: Did no warner come to you? [Surah Al Mulk, 67: 7-8]

Leave a Reply

