Biological Battles and Thankfulness

Then which of the Blessings of your Lord will you both (jinn and men) deny?

The video illustrates a grade eight Biology fact so I’m sure it’s not too incomprehnsible for us to understand.

These are white blood cells which patrol our bodies like soldiers and completely destroy bacteria in every way possible. Now that may not be the case when we get sick but we are exposed to so much of the bad bacteria (pathogens) that it’s amazing how we do not get infected. SubhanAllah! There are biological battles going on within us, without us knowing!!! So now when you count your blessings, you can probably thank Allah SWT for those healthy soldiers within you which are working day and night non-stop because I can tell you very confidently (albeit my ignorance) that if you have non-functioning soldiers in your body, your body will suffer big time. One can die instantaneously. Imagine a human, who is arrogant, struts about disobeying Allah SWT, can die by bacteria which is not even visible to the naked eye at the Command of Allah SWT. The helplessness of a human is so great.

It’s just mind-blowing really. I’m trying to get hold of some awesome videos which our Prof showed us today. He smiled at my expression (I guess my expression was too obvious) and said, ‘Cool, eh?’ And I exclaimed, ‘It sure is!’ 

Seriously, it reminded me of a verse in Surah Ale Imraan, in which Allah SWT says:

Those who remember Allâh (always, and in prayers) standing, sitting, and lying down on their sides, and think deeply about the creation of the heavens and the earth, (saying): “Our Lord! You have not created (all) this without purpose, glory to You! (Exalted are You above all that they associate with You as partners). Give us salvation from the torment of the Fire. (191)

I get goosebumps everytime I attend a class with this topic. As a biologist, one gets too used to the miracles in the body and one develops the ‘yeah-whatever’ attitude. But to me it’s so scary when I think about the different immune system cells or any Microbiology course because the truth is right there glaring at the face of the non-Muslim scientists. Yet, they do not understand and I feel so thankful that He SWT guided me. At the same time, I feel uncomfortable because of the state of urgency… that I have to tell my Prof about Islam because he’s my teacher and I am indebted to him (after Allah SWT) for educating me. He’s too a creation of Allah SWT and I want to share the love of Islam like he shares the love of Immunology etc. with us. May Allah SWT guide all my Profs to the Straight Path and accept my duaa for it is painful to see such intelligent people leading the life of ignorance. May Allah SWT equip me and all Muslims with the right tools to do Dawa’h to them and forgive us for our shortcomings.Ameen.

Moral of the story: If you really want to get an Eeman boost, I strongly suggest that you read a book or attend a lecture about bacteria and the immune system. It is bound to take your ‘Ibadah to a new level especially when you put two and two together. That is, all the ahadith that talk about Allah SWT’s Greatness and then look at the size of these bacteria…you will no doubt fear Allah SWT and pray your prayers on time with that love and fear…and hope too for His forgiveness.

Inshaa’Allah, one should aim to make everything a means of hidaya even if there are elements of misguidance and disturbances around.

P.S. For Science junkies (I know you guys exist, no need to hide in your closets)–> there’s a book that you may like to turn to for fun and get some dose of Quraan as well, sample is right here. I don’t think there are any pdf copies available yet. But it’s a must-have if you are into those things. A suggestion for parents (homeschooling or not): teach your kids Science with references from the Quraan. Helps them build a good early-on relationship with the Book of Allah SWT inshaa’Allah.

And Allah SWT knows best.

2 Responses to “Biological Battles and Thankfulness”

  1. ommal muqarraboon Says:

    as-salam3laykum wr, jazakiallahu khayr for this article, i enjoyed reading it. And I can’t wait to read that pdf (I think I’m a bit of a science junkie lol — but w/ moderation cuz science is great and all, but when ppl start trying to play w the translation of the Quran to fit the scientific “discoveries,” that’s dangerous. Because, as one wise person said, as soon as science disproves its own discovery, ppl are pointing fingers at the Quran because of what YOU did. (paraphrased). So sciences comes up to meet the standard of the Quran, not the other way around.)

    Awesome reminder sis!

    • Walaykum asalam warahmatullahi wabarakatuh!

      First of all a heartiest welcome to the blog! :)

      You’re right. We should not use Science to confirm religion. But besides Scientists, nobody’s really interested in looking at nature with an analytical mind…which is a pity. Because really Nature makes us love the Creator even more. That’s my experience. And like you said, moderation is the key.

      JazakiAllahu khayran kathira for your comment! Really appreciate it.
      I hope to see you more often for the Sake of Allah SWT and please do not hesitate to share any beneficial thought with me here. Any kind of reminder benefits the believer.
      Wishing you a great weekend ahead inshaa’Allah.
      Love,
      -UmmS.
      P.S. the pdf is just sample of the contents of the book. Do try to get a copy of it if you can inshaa’Allah!

Leave a Reply

