Reflective Practice

When I’m no more and my spirit soars…

I wish that You, My Rabb, command the Angels

to swing open Jannah’s Doors:

My Lord! Bestow Hukm (religious knowledge, right judgement of the affairs) on me, and join me with the righteous. And grant me an honourable mention in later generations.And make me one of the inheritors of the Paradise of Delight. [Surah Al Shuara, 26:83-85]. AMEEN.

***

Asalamoalaykum Warahmatullah,

Reflection or contemplation is the source of peace. It can come in a variety of forms, one could reflect over the meanings of the Quraan or sometimes just reflect over daily interactions. To me, it is like a mental space I create where I can freely express myself and then analyze my thoughts without being judgemental or sympathetic. SubhanAllah, it is like having an appointment with one’s soul and asking if it’s doing OK and if it’s not, then why not and so on. I have been doing this for a long time now, only to realize that it’s called ‘Reflecting learning’ last week. It is a method employed by professionals, more specifically counsellors in which they maintain  ‘Reflective Practice Journal’ and think about all the different ways they have learned in various settings.

Wanted to share some interestingly relevant poetry that may seem very simple but so profound at the same time. It’s been a while anyway and I can allow myself a little bit of poetry I guess. It can be connected to the theme of reflecting and as a budding practitioner I found it very helpful:

With my personal experience in dealing with people, in fact even with this blog, I sometimes found my mind being filled with a stampede of thoughts especially when someone asked me for help. I had to be religiously correct but diplomatic in not scaring people away from Islam. It is extremely difficult and honestly sometimes daunting, more-so when you are a human yourself and have a life too with very real problems. This past week, it was refreshing to realize that such people must let their minds reach back to the base-line level so that they can better address the problems of upcoming clients. ‘How can such people care for others when they are not themselves mentally energetic?’

Another interesting read:

I can already relate to the writer of the following piece but really I hope Allah SWT forgives me because I think it is wrong of me to even  think that way. But it would be great if people who seek help realize that people helping them are humans too. Very faulty and in need of mental rest etc.

I’m reading a wonderful book called Reflective Practice: Writing and Professional Development by Gillie Bolton and all these excerpts are from that book. I have added it to my new page, UmmS’s Book Nook. So far what I’ve been reading and practising has been mentally refreshing and I’m so grateful to Allah SWT for helping me find the right path. Indeed, He SWT answers all duaas.

Allah SWT knows what lies ahead but I’ve started working towards my dream. I hope He SWT accepts it and accepts my repentance.

Just had an amazing thought-provoking night. I’m cherishing such opportunities, alhamdolilah. I’m having a ‘synchronized’ moment in which my mind,soul and body are all on the same track…connected and content. I pray this is a means of hidaya for me and helps me help myself and 100 others achieve Rafeeq al ‘Ala.Ameen.

True success is not just about achievement. It is about achievement in the context of challenges.

And Allah SWT knows best.

Leave a Reply

