Project Clean-up: Friday Themes

Purification = Success

Indeed he succeeds who purifies his ownself (i.e. obeys and performs all that Allâh ordered, by following the true Faith of Islâmic Monotheism and by doing righteous good deeds). And indeed he fails who corrupts his ownself (i.e. disobeys what Allâh has ordered by rejecting the true Faith of Islâmic Monotheism or by following polytheism or by doing every kind of evil wicked deeds).[Surah Ash-Shams, 91: 9-10]

  • This could mean that whoever purifies himself by obedience to Allah, then he will be successful. This is as Qatadah said, “He cleanses it from the lowly and despicable characteristics.” [Ibn Kathir]

Benefits of Pure Heart = Safety on the Day of Judgement

And disgrace me not on the Day when (all the creatures) will be resurrected. The Day whereon neither wealth nor sons will avail. Except him who brings to Allâh a clean/sound heart [clean from Shirk (polytheism) and Nifâq (hypocrisy)]. And Paradise will be brought near to the Muttaqûn. [Al Shuara, 26:87-90]

  • Ibn Sirin said, “The clean heart knows that Allah is true, that the Hour will undoubtedly come and that Allah will resurrect those who are in the graves.”
  • Sa`id bin Al-Musayyib said, “The clean heart is the sound heart.” This is the heart of the believer, for the heart of the disbeliever and the hypocrite is sick. [Ibn Kathir]

***

Asalamoalaykum warahmatullah,

It is common sense that in our Eeman, we can only go up or down. There’s no staying on one-level. To prevent myself from an Eeman dip, I have decided to start another category called ‘Friday Themes’.

Every week, from one Friday to the next Thursday, I will focus on one theme which will help me (and inshaa’Allah others) to become a better Muslim. I am aiming to do this until at least January 14 at the level of the blog. May Allah SWT give me the hidaya and Tawfique to continue beyond it as well.Ameen.

So my 3-week self-development project involves : Purification of the Soul. I will be following this book and would mainly deal with 4 poisons of the heart (pp. 27 of the pdf).

–Week 1 (Dec 24-30) will deal with the poison of excessive talking

–Week 2 (Dec 31-Jan 6) will deal with the poison of excessive eating

–Week 3 (Jan 7- Jan14) will deal with the poision of unrestrained glances and keeping bad company

***

Prophetic Duaas to seek Allah SWT’s Help:

 It was reported by Al-`Awfi and `Ali bin Abi Talhah from Ibn `Abbas. At-Tabarani recorded that Ibn `Abbas said, “The Messenger of Allah used to stop whenever he recited  Ayah no. 9 of Surah As-Shams (quoted above), then he would say this dua ,(O Allah! Give my soul its good. You are its Guardian and Master, and the best to purify it.)” [Source: Ibn Kathir]

 ***
Inshaa’Allah with that duaa, I will comence to this week’s theme in my next post. Whoever wants to join me, they may because there’s always barakah in Jama’h or group effort. In that case it’s the reader’s responsibility to acquaint themselves with what purification is and its basics because I will not be covering that at all.

And Allah SWT knows best.

4 Responses to “Project Clean-up: Friday Themes”

  1. Subhallah to your most recent post. Wallahi they have been on my mind of late, my brain’s ‘priority list’ you could say. All these subjects you have been mentioning are somehting on my do list inshallah for this winter break. I purchased that book only recently, and downloaded the very links you are referring to. It helps to know someone so close is too tackling these subjects. I feel shackled by my inability to shake these feelings off, for the heart is not yet purified and when I read and studied about sincere repentance, I came to the realisation that it is a gift. One that Allah swt imparts to his servants, I wish for this gift for both you and I.

    When the objectives are superb the toils to reach them most be ignored.

    I don’t know about you but I have much work ahead of me. Let the battle commence!

    • Asalamoalaykum warahmatullah,

      I must say you are lucky to be able to buy all sorts of books so easily mashaa’Allah. Do you do that online or do you have a local Islamic bookstore? We don’t have any here. It’s in a city which is on a 3-hr drive and in that bookstore, one may not find variety except the typical books. But alhamdolilah for online bookstores :)

      Excellent! Now I’ve got myself a buddy. We are in it together and inshaa’Allah we can DO THIS…but one step at a time. Like one Shaykh said that one’s soul is like a spoiled kid, which is going to throw tantrums but you have to discipline it nevertheless…slowly coax it to bring it back on track.

      It is upto Allah SWT to purify us, we can only take the steps He SWT has commanded us to take. Inshaa’Allah it won’t be in vain.

      Me too! I’m also working on my Ikhlaq through this though…I am deficient in my manners/etiquettes and I’m not proud to say that but I’m working on both of these at the same time…it’s a little difficult to control the two aspects. However, like you said: ‘When the objectives are superb, the toils to reach them must be ignored.’ Absolutely.

      I’m thinking it must be easier to do all this during the holidays because one is at home and has minimal contact with the outside world these days. It would be nice to re-live Ramadan, do Itikaaf from the dunia….and focus on the spirit. This way we’ll have sufficient tools to maintain our Eeman once the holidays are over.

      I had colleagues ask me where I’d be spending my holidays and when I happily said ‘right here, would do some reading’, they kind of felt bad for me that I wasn’t going anywhere. It made me laugh.I’m on holiday from the dunia/my work/my univ and my vacation involves doing Hijrah to Allah SWT inshaa’Allah…and honestly, that’s the best holiday ever…don’t you think so too? :)

      Many duaas for your success! May we live up to our aims and in turn live up to the Commands of Allah SWT.
      Love,
      -UmmS.

  2. P.s. I have a shorter winter break than you only 10 days that is including today, that is not much, but I hope to be able to move mountains in these days. Ameen, ameen.

    Lots of love, R

    • My holidays are until Jan 9 alhamdolilah.

      I guess univ students need a longer break to regrow their brains which have been pretty much used and reduced to the size of peanuts!

      Anyway, with a lot of holidays…one tends to get relxed and waste them as well. So inshaa’Allah 10 is a good number to achieve some goals without any wastage…which in turn prevents the regret that comes with wasted time.

      Best wishes,

      -UmmS.

Leave a Reply

