Imprisonment of Tongue

Abdullah ibn Masu’d said:

“By Allah, besides whom no God exists, nothing deserves a long prison sentence more than my tongue.”

[pp. 26, Purification of the Soul]

***

In my case, my fingers which type excessively, wasting words and their value…and end up being misinterpretted. No doubt it is a reminder of my misdeeds, my lack of proper/sufficient repentance and/or lack of sincerity.

‘And whatever of misfortune befalls you, it is because of what your hands have earned. And He pardons much.  And you cannot escape from Allâh (i.e. His Punishment) in the earth, and besides Allâh you have neither any Walî (guardian or a protector helper) nor any helper.’ [Surah Ash- Shura, v.30-31]

O Allah I will be destroyed if You do not guide me or protect me. And I know you exalt those who humble themselves to you and purify themselves to have a sound heart just so that they could meet You with Your Pleasure and not with a second of Your Wrath.Ameen.

 

Leave a Reply

