Tawakul leads to Barakah in Provisions

Anas said,

 “Abu Talha said to Umm Sulaym, ‘I heard the voice of the Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, and it was weak and I recognised hunger in it. Do you have anything?’

 She said, ‘Yes,’ and produced some barley loaves.

She took a scarf of hers and wrapped up the bread in part of it and then she put it under my garment and tied the other end of it round me. Then she sent me to the Messenger of Allah and I took it with me. I found the Messenger of Allah sitting in the mosque with some people.

I stood over them and the Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, asked, ‘Did Abu Talha send you?’ I answered, ‘Yes.’

 He said, ‘For a meal?’

I replied, ‘Yes.’

The Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, ordered, ‘Get up.’

 Then he set off and I went on ahead of them until I came to Abu Talha and informed him.

 Abu Talha said, ‘Umm Sulaym! The Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, has come with some people, and we do not have anything to feed them.’

She said, ‘Allah and His Messenger know best.’

Abu Talha went to meet the Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, and the Messenger of Allah went forward with him until they both entered and the Messenger of Allah said, ‘Bring what you have, Umm Sulaym.’

 So she brought that bread and the Messenger of Allah commanded it to be broken up and then Umm Sulaym squeezed some ghee on it to flavour it.’

Then the Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said what Allah willed over it and then he said, ‘Admit ten,’ and he admitted them.

They ate until they were full and then went out. Then he said, ‘Admit ten’ and he admitted them.

 They ate until they were full and then went out.

 Then he said, ‘Admit ten’ and he admitted them and so on until all the people had eaten and were full, and there were seventy or eighty men.”

 [Agreed upon, Riyadhus-Saliheen, # 521]

Leave a Reply

