Vacation

Asalamoalaykum warahmatullahi wabarakatuh,

I plan to take a vacation from my blog.

I don’t want anything to come in the way of my sincerity to Allah SWT…and I want to focus more on my last year at Univ. I haven’t been really writing much like I used to on my previous blog.

Writing is like breathing for me but this ‘kind’ of’ breathing’ requires huge time commitment and attachment.

***

I may die as an insignificant person.

A nobody.

But I don’t want to die without a significant purpose in life…

…without having made a significant change in people’s Eeman

and without having a significant status in His Sight.

Hence the need for some isolation…have been thinking too much, writing it all down and collecting ample evidence against me. SubhanAllah!

To all my readers who comment and those who don’t: I’ll remember you all in my duaas.

Please remember me too :)

Wishing heightened Eeman,peace of soul, contentment of heart and warmth of loved ones for you all,

-UmmS.

P.S. Some of you can remain in touch with me through email if you like.

2 Responses to “Vacation”

  1. Assalaamu alaykum,

    May Allaah accept your du’aas and assist you in your final year.

    Your writings are very beneficial ma sha Allaah. I’m sure most readers enjoy reading your entries. May Allaah reward you with Jannat Al Firdaws. Please don’t take a complete break. We were created to seek the pleasure of Allaah not that of His creation. If you work for Allaah, insha Allaah He will fulfil your wishes at a time that it is good for you but not necessarily when you want it. Don’t forget to make continuous du’aa as du’aa is an act of worship beloved to Allaah. And don’t forget to purify your intentions regularly so that your actions will be accepted insha Allaah.

    There are several Ahadith that mention the rewards of admitting that the return is to Allah by saying:

    ﴿إِنَّا لِلَّهِ وَإِنَّـآ إِلَيْهِ رَجِعونَ﴾

    (“Truly, to Allah we belong and truly, to Him we shall return.”) when afflictions strike. For instance, Imam Ahmad reported that Umm Salamah narrated: Once, Abu Salamah came back after he was with Allah’s Messenger and said: I heard Allah’s Messenger recite a statement that made me delighted. He said:

    «لَا يُصِيبُ أَحَدًا مِنَ الْمُسْلِمِينَ مُصِيبَةٌ فَيَسْتَرْجِعُ عِنْدَ مُصِيبَتِهِ ثُمَّ يقُولُ: اللَّهُمَّ أْجُرْنِي فِي مُصِيبَتِي وأَخْلِفْ لِي خَيْرًا مِنْهَا، إِلَّا فَعَلَ ذلِكَ بِه»

    (No Muslim is struck with an affliction and then says Istirja` when the affliction strikes, and then says: `O Allah! Reward me for my loss and give me what is better than it,’ but Allah will do just that.) Umm Salamah said: So I memorized these words. When Abu Salamah died I said Istirja` and said: “O Allah! Compensate me for my loss and give me what is better than it.” I then thought about it and said, “Who is better than Abu Salamah” When my `Iddah (the period of time before the widow or divorced woman can remarry) finished, Allah’s Messenger asked for permission to see me while I was dyeing a skin that I had. I washed my hands, gave him permission to enter and handed him a pillow, and he sat on it. He then asked me for marriage and when he finished his speech, I said, “O Messenger of Allah! It is not because I do not want you, but I am very jealous and I fear that you might experience some wrong mannerism from me for which Allah would punish me. I am old and have children.” He said:

    «أمَّا مَا ذَكَرْتِ مِنَ الْغَيْرَةِ فَسَوْفَ يُذْهِبُهَا اللهُ عَزَّ وَجَلَّ عَنْكِ، وَأَمَّا مَا ذَكَرْتِ مِنَ السِّنِّ فَقَدْ أَصَابَنِي مِثْلُ الَّذِي أَصَابَكِ، وَأَمَّا مَا ذَكَرْتِ مِنَ الْعِيَالِ فَإِنَّمَا عِيَالُكِ عِيَالِي»

    (As for the jealousy that you mentioned, Allah the Exalted will remove it from you. As for your being old as you mentioned, I have suffered what you have suffered. And for your having children, they are my children too.) She said, “I have surrendered to Allah’s Messenger.” Allah’s Messenger married her and Umm Salamah said later, “Allah compensated me with who is better than Abu Salamah: Allah’s Messenger .” Tasfir Ibn Kathir

    • Walaykum asalam warahmatullah,

      Reminder definitely benefits a believer esp. in the context of one’s fav. Sahabiat and Sahabees. May Allah SWT be pleased with them all and unite us with them. Ameen.

      :)

      JazakAllahu khayran! I shall keep your advice in my mind.

      -UmmS.

Leave a Reply

