Major Benefits of Sending Blessings on the Prophet SAW

Beneficial read:

via From the Nurse to the Shaykh: A Heartfelt Reminder | MuslimMatters.org.

11 Responses to “Major Benefits of Sending Blessings on the Prophet SAW”

  1. Hello

    What a beautiful blog you have. I have a query, I excercise quite regularly, 5 times a week, and now that Ramdan is coming up, I am worried how I will maintain it. With the days being so long there is not much time..I have been reading on other blogs about it, and people have suggested after iftar and before tareeweh, there is simply not enough time. I am not a profesional athelete but I am strict on my excerise regime. I feel guilty for even thinking about it after I read how the predecessors would do nothing but worship all ramadan. And there is me here and countless others worried about fitness, we have got our priorities wrong, yet I cannot shake this feeling off :(( In distress and agigitation.

    SFRe
    May Allah swt bless you with the best Ramadan of your life.

    • Asalamoalaykum,

      Welcome to the blog! And thank you so much for your kind words…your participation here through your comments would be a great honor, so pls do drop by as often as you can.

      Just a disclaimer before I say anything regarding your query: I’m not a dietician/nutritionist, nor am I a full time athlete/religious scholar so please take everything I say with a grain of salt inshaa’Allah.

      It’s normal to feel guilty but it really depends how you take your exercise. Connect your exercise regime with an exalted intention Inshaa’Allah, acts which are not ibadah directly(like exercise) DO become acts of Ibadah if you align your intention with His Pleasure: i.e. to have a healthy and energized body so that you could worship Allah SWT more because people who exercise regularly, their body becomes so used to that physical regime that their body becomes lethargic without it…so they need to exercise to ‘recharge’. Therefore, it’s highly important to make sure you’re sincere in your intention and are intelligent about it during Ramadan…cash in on your exercise (something that you like) and please Allah SWT thru it. Now can anything get better than that? =]

      Regarding when to exercise it depends on:
      (1) the no. of hours you wish to exercise
      (2) how tiring the exercise is

      In my opinion if you exercise more than hour(your habit) then connect it with the night prayers in congregation(act of worship). So, you can discipline yourself and make a deal with yourself that if you go for Taraweeh, then you’ll reward yourself with exercise.

      If the exercise is tiring then you should definitely avoid exercising before Taraweeh or any Salah(prayer time) for that matter. I could give suggestions but it again depends on the nature of your exercise and daily schedule(work etc.). One idea is to execise after Fajr because you already have had something to eat and like I said some types of exercise invogorates one’s body and that could be a good way to start the day. Then after exercising, you could convince yourself to read/memorize certain pages of the Quraan.

      Or you could do it like I mentioned before: after Taraweeh. Depends on whether you do your work-out at home or in a gym, so if you go to a gym then the opening and closing hours of the gym may affect your exercise schedule.

      Being conscious of fitness is permissible as long as it doesn’t become an obssession because our bodies are a major blessing from Allah SWT and if we make sure they’re healthy, we would be able to worship Him much more easily. I won’t hesitate to reiterate that your intention should be correct. You should exercise so that your body becomes strong enough to stand up for night prayers. You should want to build your stamina to run back and forth from Masjid easily for prayers and volunteer your life for His Sake. I’m sure you understand what I mean now. There’s a higher purpose for which all of us were created, we need to incline to that higher purpose at the end of the day. It’s all about tweaking your vision.

      However, if anyone wants to exercise just for worldly reasons, then they’ll get what they intend according to the hadith:”Actions are (judged) by motives (niyyah), so each man will have what he intended. Thus, he whose migration (hijrah) was to Allah and His Messenger, his migration is to Allah and His Messenger; but he whose migration was for some worldly thing he might gain, or for a wife he might marry, his migration is to that for which he migrated.”[Al-Bukhari & Muslim]

      One thing that should motivate you to stick to your exercise regime is that the battles were fought in the hottest of climates AND during Ramadan! If the Companions (may Allah SWT be pleased with them all) could do it-not forgetting that they had limited varieties of food to eat- then you can do it as well! It’s all hogwash when people fear fasting as an obstacle in their way! Allah SWT gives strength to whomsoever He wills, you just have to ask for it.

      Therefore, make duas during Qiyaam ul layl(Tahajud) in the next few nights before Ramadan that Allah SWT makes it easy for you:Abu Umamah (radhi allahu anhu) reported that the Prophet (sallallahu alaihi wa-sallam) was once asked: “When are the supplications most acceptable?” He (sallallahu alaihi wa-sallam) replied: “In the last depth of the night and at the end of the prescribed prayers.” [(hasan) by Shaikh al-Albanee (at-Tirmidhee)]

      Finally, please don’t forget that some acts of worship are more blessed than others, meaning you get more reward through certain acts. So, like you have a regime for exercise, have an ambitious regime for Quraan.

      I hope that pretty much covers everything in regards to your query inshaa’Allah.

      May Allah SWT reward you for being conscious of giving Ramadan it’s proper right. And may He, the Most Merciful, reward you with the highest rank in Jannah and the best companionship there (rafeeq al ‘ala) just because you care enough for your Ramadan.ameen.

      May Allah SWT give us all the opportunity to reach Ramadan and earn Palaces of Paradise in this bonus month.ameen thumma ameen.

      And Allah SWT knows best.

      Best wishes,
      -UmmSulaim

  2. Wow

    what a lengthy reply, wasnot what I was expecting – you certainly know how to make a guest feel welcome:) I will tackle it in the order of what you put down, too much to remember in my pea mind.

    Salt. check.

    btw. I wanted your two cents on the spiritual conflicts i have, not on the right foods to eat etc. Mind not about that.

    I betta give you a background on what I do, I am learning dance. The gym bores me stupid. Utlimately I love dance and its something that has inspired me and is an aspiration. So i have been trained literally 6 days a week, a couple of hours everynight. Its very exhausting as you can imagine and I train until my legs drop off. So not your average gym-goer.

    But I have built myself to a good level now. A months break is determental to my progress. there is noone who is muslim and who dances that I can relate to or know of personally. I can do stretches and just core body exercises during ramadan, a few less strenous moves here and there but ultimately my dance will suffer. btw my dance is not something I do to promote myself to the opposite gender, astagfilluh I do it because i love it and because it is hard. I want to say i have done. its now or never as its that difficult.

    Now I am not that stupid, and being realistic that doing both the dance and ramadan is not feasible. Who chares two hares catches none..or something among them lines.

    Silly as it sounds I try to do zikr whilst dancing, and doing my excerises and stuff – with a view to remembering Allah swt whilst sitting, lying etc.

    So in essence i do not exercise to have a more healthy enegerised body, i can stay i do infact appreciate and 100% value this opportunity to dance, its very hard. and all power and strength is from allah swt. So i thank him whilst i am doing it. I understand your analogy, I apply that to other chores that I know will please allah swt those i hate doing them like household chores etc. I know I am helping to look after my family so I pray in my heart whilst doing them. I dont think I can apply it here.

    Connecting it with tarawee is not feasible. Simply as there is not going to be enough time plus the studio will be closed then.

    I am so scared that I will not reach ramadan or do what I intended in it I have started to read and pray like it is ramdan already- well trying. As a result the dance is already on hold. I have a lesson this week but I am not prepared for it like I am normally. I got ill a couple weeks ago and I got frightened if that happend in ramdan so i stopped.

    BUt I keep getting guilt feelings in my prayers, its ruining my level of khushoo. I keep telling myself its only a month, but now having started early its gona be much longer than that :((

    As for exercising after fajr – again no time and as I am going to be so tired it pointless . I barely have enough energy to pray at the moment. My body is not an obsession but my dance progress is. I am not overly obessed as I have managed to put it on hold but struggling to do so. I guess my intention is somewhat obscured. I dont know how to tweak my vision. I want to focus on ramadan without guilt feelings. I appreaciate what you said about the salaf fighting and fasting simulaneously, when i came across that i relayed to myself that our fasting is easy compared to theirs, my dance didnt even come to mind.

    As for tahujjud – lets not go there. I have been struggling for weeks each night i go to bed with the intention of waking up for it but I do not wake up:(((. I am in despair when i think I have missed out on its blessings. They say you can read Duha salat but it just isnt the same. Also I read somwhere that sleeping with wudu is considered that you have been worshipping all night, the level of merit in that i do not know. Again its not the same as reading at night.

    I am trying my best to be ambitious with rmandan. Its seems so hard. I hope i can do it. what are ur goals this time?

    You covered pretty much everything and more, thank you for your time :). sorry to burden you with this, but i had noone else to turn to. my family are not as concerned or oblivious to the virtues of this month, I know Allah swt guides whom he wills but they are not even making an effort to exhert themselves. but who am i to say anything – i to was once like them. I have no room to talk and wish to stay silent about it. inside i am screaming saying look at what you are all missing, I hope one day they will develop the love for deen more than what they hve now.

    I have written. I look forward to ur reply, hopefully.

    Haven’t time to read this over, In spirtual turmoil. so forgive me for the variability in my literacy. I just said what came to mind.

    SRae

    • Asalamoalaykum Dearest Sister-in-Islam,

      I understand your situation much better now and I can see how terribly difficult of a situation you are in.

      “Be sure we shall test you with something of fear and hunger, some loss in goods or lives or the fruits (of your toil) ……”[Quran, Al-Baqarah (The Cow) 2:155]

      It may be difficult-yes-but not something that you yourself on your own can’t put up with. You don’t need anyone. You just need Allah SWT on your side! It’s all within your capability.

      “Allah burdens not a person beyond his scope. He gets reward for that (good) which he has earned, and he is punished for that (evil) which he has earned. [Quran, Al-Baqarah (The Cow) 2:286]

      However, there’s a solution to every single spiritual problem and physical ailment. Inshaa’Allah, I will make special duaa’ for you and I hope that Allah SWT guides you to the solution.

      The biggest obstacle in your path is your fear of not being able to keep up with your exercise regime. Now alhamdolilah you have identified the problem. That’s the first step. You should try to conquer that fear which is only and solely from the Shaytan.
      Your second problem is again fear but in the form of despair. Again, this is from the whispers of Shaytan.

      I can give you my suggestions BUT I want to research it and give you a solution in the light of Islam only. Therefore, I wanted to ask you a few personal questions before I could suggest a solution. And I wouldn’t want to ask you here, so if you feel comfortable, please email me your email address at: eolianharp@live.com and I will respond immediately.

      Or if you want to answer them here, it’s upto you =]
      These questions are to gauge my answer towards you so please do not judge my intentions for I am not doing it to judge you. Please bear with my ignorance.

      My questions are as follows:
      –Is the Art of Dance your hobby/passion or is it a means of earning a living?
      –How consistent are you with your daily 5 prayers? In other words, are you having trouble keeping up with them?
      –You said that you do Dhikr which is excellent Mashaa’Allah. How often do you read the Quraan?
      –How consistent are you with making Duaa’ for yourself?
      –Righteous companions/friends are a huge help in a Muslim’s journey towards Jannah. Do you have any opportunity to go to circles of people who remember Allah SWT?

      As for my lengthy responses, that made me laugh when you mentioned it. I guess I do go a little overboard with my responses. I was shocked when I looked at the length of my response myself. Forgive me but I do admit I am extravagant in expenditure of my words and I hope I learn the art of using fewer yet appropriate words like the Prophet SAW.

      **Quick solutions for now**

      –>Say ‘Astaghfirullah’ as much as you can with strong conviction visualizing in your mind that the burden on you is lifting away each time you recite such Dhikr. Benefits of Istighfar are many for Akhira and there are huge benefits for dunia too:
      (1) It is related that a man came to al-Hasan al-Basree, the noble Taabi’ee, and complained to him of poverty. So he said to him, ‘Ask forgiveness of Allaah.’ Another man came to him complaining that he did not have any children. So he said to him, ‘Ask forgiveness of Allaah.’ A third man came to him complaining of the barrenness of his garden. So he said to him, ‘Ask forgiveness of Allaah.’ He then recited to them the saying of Allaah, the Perfect and Most High:

      “I said to them, ‘Ask forgiveness from your Lord, indeed He is Oft-Forgiving. He will send rain to you in abundance and He will give you increase in wealth and children, and bestow on you gardens and rivers.’ “(Surah Nuh, v.10-12)
      (2) “And O my people! Ask forgiveness of your Lord and then repent to Him, He will send you (from the sky) abundant rain, and ***add strength to your strength***, so do not turn away as Mujrimoon (criminals, disbelievers in the Oneness of Allah)” [Hood 11:52]
      –>Make an effort to recite the Prophetic morning and evening duas because they are comprehensive in terms of both deen and dunia. It’s my personal experience that my life in terms of both my daily tasks and worship becomes much much easier when I say the duas. If you need the weblink to an authentic dua book for the morning and evening duas (pg 19 onwards of the pdf), here it is: http://www.kalamullah.com/Books/fortress_of_the_muslim.pdf.

      (3) Don’t let Shaytan cause you to despair. If you do feel down, act opposite of what Shaytan expects you to end up doing. Force yourself to pray Nafl, if you’re too tired—read the Quraan with translation. Still too tired, then watch a good Islamic video on youtube or listen to a lecture. The key thing is to force yourself and not let Shaytan win the game! If you need any resources, please look on the right side and look for the title ‘Excellent Islamic Resources’ and explore those weblinks.

      That’s it for now. I hope it can give you momentary relief and inshaa’Allah we’ll work on a much more lasting solution. I have firm belief in Allah SWT that He does not turn away those who seek Him. Seek Him to find yourself and hence to find your solutions. I’m on the same path, struggling albeit in a different manner.

      My Ramadan goals…I was just thinking about them last night. I’m off from univ and work so I’m aiming to be more ambitious this time around because even if I don’t fulfill my goals, at least I’ll get rewarded for my intentions.

      So yeah, please respond back and make dua for me.

      May Allah SWT soothe your heart, give you the Light of His Guidance, make you steadfast on your Deen and grant you Jannah where there’d be neither any heartache nor physical ailments.ameen.

      Many Duas,
      -UmmSulaim

  3. Wsalam

    we can deal with it here. There may be someone else out there who is having similiar issues or somethin, who knows.

    Its ok. I know you wouldnt judge me, I wouldnt have got in touch otherwise!

    Im glad u said that. I certainly do feel alone in this. those who do dance, are like just do it , keep up with it, but they are not god conscious.I dont wana relay this to those who know me and are muslim, they dont undrstand the difficulty in the dance – so either way im kinda buggered. I know I am doing the right thing by putting it on hold, but at the sametime doing so is diverting my attention through my prayers – think thats why I got in touch. Why am i feeling guilty when I know I am doing the right thing?!!

    I know I just need to get on board with Allah swt. Thank you for the dua.

    Its okay, not everyone understand dancing and what it entails. Answers:

    .its a hobby/passion
    .Allahdillah I try to read on time, I organise my daily activites around my prayers with this view. as a result I keep up with them expect – fajr, this is the only one that I fail to catch. workin on it thou:)
    .Generally read it a couple times a wk, during shaban i started reading it everyday
    .I make dua for myself all the time.
    .there are some places around that offer services, I dont know how to identify if they are the right ones to follow.

    Quick solutions: I like this. I listened to a lecture on intention yday, as I ws unclear about the topic intentions after you mentioned it. The lecturer said intention should be pure. And any action you are going to take needs to be purely for the sake of allah swt and second it needs to be following the sunnah of the prophet pbuh. so this helped clear some of the clouds in my mind. I try to reason with myself lastnite why I had put it on hold. All strenght is from God inshalah so he will help me get back on track with the dancing. Im just gona have to push it at the back of my mind. I was on fbook and I was reading the dancers post – we do so regularly, videos and stuff – I kept looking at them and the ramdan reminders I had. I just thought I cannot get caught up in it during ramdan there is too much to do, so ignored the posts and moved on to the ramdan ones. Dunno why, but death suddenly came to mind, and my dance aspirations just faded that very instance. Guess I need to hold on to that fear. sorry im digressing..

    .the mansoon duas, a big bug bear of mine. I have been meaning to learn em for ages. I only struggle with the pronouciation. Thanks for this link.

    Ok I will hopefully do that. Fighting him is better than giving into him i guess.

    I hope I answered your qs, if you have anymore lemme know. U words have already bougt me some comfort – I cancelled my lesson lasnite. I thought time betta spent on the quran this week hopefully, the lesson will have to wait!

    I would have figured ud have a list all already for ramdan. Good luck with it. Aim high:)

    Thnk you for the heartfelt words, uve comforted a flapping heart. As you can tell im all over the joint. hope this makes sense. Again forgive me for the spelling mistakes etc!

    Thanks again. Have a lovely thurs.

    SRae

  4. found sumat that expresses what changed my mind on teh lesson and the dance isue in general, im not sure what surah I was reading lastnite but it centered on something like this:

    Giving precedence to what He loves over what you love when you are overtaken by your desires.

    Hope we both reach our set goals this ramdan,and most of all his forgiveness.

    Love SRae

    • Asalamoalaykum,

      I apologize for the late reply. Have been thinking about your situation and at the same time I’ve been crazy busy with my own commitments.

      No doubt the greatest enemy to mankind beside one’s own Nafs is Shaytaan. And he is the one who’s whispering to you and causing you to doubt and hence feel guilty.

      Right now in your case specifically, he’s causing you to doubt your commitment to your passion. He’s making you feel guilty about something you had committed to consciously (dance practice). You say that you’re being God conscious with the coming of Ramadan. Then that’s it! Shaytan wants you to abandon your Ramadan goals before he gets chained. In other words, he is strategically planning to pull your motivation level down by causing you to fear or despair etc. Now that you know his tactics, it’s time to build a shield around yourself and protect yourself from his whispers (waswasa).

      Some easy steps:
      (1) Say Aaoothibillah with firm conviction. We all know that solution but only few people internalize it and sink deep into its meaning when they say it. You have to believe that Allah SWT can get you out of this problem and He SWT will.

      (2) Another duaa’ for seeking refuge from the Quraan which I discovered by the Guidance of Allah SWT (memorize the verses 97 and 98). Surah Al Mo’minoon (23), v.96-98: Repel evil with that which is better. We are Best-Acquainted with the things they utter. (96) And say: “My Lord! I seek refuge with You from the whisperings (suggestions) of the Shayâtin (devils). (97) “And I seek refuge with You, My Lord! lest they (should come near) me.” (98)

      (3) Read the Arabic of Surah Sawd(no. 38), verses 82-83. The translations is: [Iblîs (Satan)] said: “By Your Might, then I will surely mislead them all, (82) “Except Your chosen slaves amongst them (Mukhliseen:faithful, obedient, true believers of Islâmic Monotheism).” (83)
      • The Arabic word for ‘chosen slaves’ used in the verse is ‘Mukhliseen’, meaning those who have sincerity. So Shaytan himself admitted that he won’t be able to misguide who are sincere for your Deen. All you have to do is keep your sincerity and Shaytan will never affect you inshaa’Allah. After all the recipe is in the Quraan. Sincerity can be achieved by thinking that ‘I’m going to become a better Muslim to achieve His Pleasure whether it’s by abandoning my need for food or exercise. If I do it for His Sake, He’ll compensate it for me.’ It’s a continuous battle to work on sincerity. Look for lectures and books on it.

      (4) All you have to do is be patiently firm and inshaa’Allah you won’t regret missing exercise lessons during Ramadan. Instead you will get reward of Paradise. It’s in the Quraan:
      • Surah Ahqaaf(46): v.13-14: Verily, those who say: “Our Lord is (only) Allâh,” and thereafter stand firm (on the Islâmic Faith of Monotheism) on them shall be no fear, nor shall they grieve. (13) Such shall be the dwellers of Paradise, abiding therein (forever) — a reward for what they used to do. (14)

      (5) Good news for you: in a hadith, the Prophet SAW has said: “There is nothing that you leave out of God-consciousness except that Allah will compensate you with something better” (Ahmad).
      • This ‘something better’ could be anything in this dunia or akhira.

      (6) Remind yourself about death all the time. That’s what I do and before you know it, you either give up disobedience or hasten towards goodness. I highly recommend that you listen to a lecture or read a good book about resurrection. It’ll align your priorities on the right track. Honestly, as I say this I’m making a mental note to come back to this post and remind myself to know more about death. Alhamdolilah you came across that verse. Allah SWT loves you that’s why He’s guiding you.

      (7) Three scary reminders
      • Sealing of heart & sight: “Have you seen him who takes his own lust (vain desires) as his ilâh (god)? and Allâh knowing (him as such), left him astray, and sealed his hearing and his heart, and put a cover on his sight. Who then will guide him after Allâh? Will you not then remember?” [Quran, Surah Al Jathiya, 45:23]
      • Life of hardship: “…then whoever follows My Guidance he shall neither go astray, nor shall be distressed. But whosoever turns away from My Reminder (i.e. neither believes in this Qur’aan nor acts on its teachings) verily, for him is a life of hardship…” [Surah Taha,20: 123-124]
      • Misguidance by being left to go astray: “It is not for a believer, man or woman, when Allaah and His Messenger have decreed a matter that they should have any option in their decision. And whoever disobeys Allaah and His Messenger, he has indeed strayed into a plain error” [al-Ahzaab 33:36]

      (8) Instill Tawakul (complete reliance on Allah SWT): “Whatever misses a person, could not have afflicted him. And whatever afflicts him, could not have missed him.” [Imam Al Tahawi]

      (9) Morning and evening duas: I can’t stress this enough. It has duas for protection from the evil. Also, recite the last 3 surahs of the Quraan 3 times after Fajr + maghrib , once after each Salah and before sleeping and inshaa’Allah you’re good to go.

      (10) Do all this even in Ramadan because even though the chief shaytans will be chained, it’s the nafs within us which is so used to disobedience will behave like a rebellious toddler. You will have to learn to coax it to the right path.

      (11) Iman booster verse: Surah Al Baqarah, v.256-257(right after Ayatul Kursi): Verily, the Right Path has become distinct from the wrong path. Whoever disbelieves in Tâghût[forces of evil/shaytan] and believes in Allâh, then he has grasped the most trustworthy handhold that will never break. And Allâh is All-Hearer, All-Knower. (256) Allâh is the Walî (Protector or Guardian) of those who believe. He brings them out from darkness into light. But as for those who disbelieve, their Auliyâ (supporters and helpers) are Tâghût [false deities and false leaders], they bring them out from light into darkness. Those are the dwellers of the Fire, and they will abide therein forever. (257)
      • You can listen to it here in a beautiful recitation: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T-jSREkbDJM

      (12) In case you have other waswasa problems, you can refer to : http://www.islam-qa.com/en/cat/1110

      I hope this helps dear sis inshaa’Allah because this is all I could think of within my limited scope of knowledge. Should you need any help, pls don’t hesitate to contact me and through His Guidance,Will and Utmost Help, I will try my best to assist you.

      May Allah SWT protect us and guide us back to the straight path and make us reach this Ramadan with full physical and spiritual health and enthusiasm .ameen.

      Please remember me in your duaas and I will remember you as well inshaa’Allah.

      Many duas for you to reach the highest level in Jannatul Firdaus and may He SWT grant you companionship of the Prophet SAW through this Ramadan.ameen.

      And Allah SWT Knows Best.

      Best wishes for Ramadan,
      -UmmSulaim

  5. Salam., hope you are ok. I got in touch with you a while ago..I am stuk in a conondrum, and I was hoping to pick you brains about it. I hope that it is okay and you are not too busy.

    Again it is dance related (this is my hobby and passion look above for the recap) – I feel stuck, really badly. After ramadan I felt myself in a position that I couldnt commit as i did before. Now the case was I begun Shawwal etc and some voluntarily fasting, so weeks went into that with less food I had less energy so I couldnt do as much.That was okay, I figured once I have done with the voluntary fasting I can get back into my normal routine.

    Now this was not planned but I managed to find my way into tajweed classes, but not only that – i only planned tajeweed but this course includes understanding of the language and basic arabic understanding. weeks have gone by and I feel torn, I want to spend more time on my dance but not at the expense of my arabic. I know not what to do. Its only a few hours of arabic, but obivously more selfstudy is needed. Now I can only do one thing at a time. I am spending less and less time on dance.

    I dont want to give up either and I am struggling to find a middleground. and i dont know how to either. I feel guiltly as I have been out of dance pracitse and to top it off I have been eating the bad food. Resulting in getting out of shape and feeling out of shape, slowly feelings of resentment are kicking in and I feel not so happy everytime I look in the mirror. I avoid certain clothing as I cant bear that some clothes are feeling stuck to me than before. I like loose clothing, that way no bodyshape can be seen and I can do my thing without any leering eyes. But latlely I have been avoiding the mirror. I like the dance cos it gets me out of boring mindless workouts at the gym, which everyone falls into and the same time gives up. Dance is no means easy, but I like the discipline and I became good at it. I can get good at it again, I am more doing it by myself. I am just struggling to find a middle course or a balance between the two. Somewhere on your site you have mentioned about “pairing up” certain ibadah, when I am doing insane moves (like balancing on my head) I do zikr as I know it is by the will of allah that I can do this – there is also the ayah that say remember you Lord sitting, standing etc so this is my intention.

    Basically what I am saying is do I need to give up my dance? I dont want to as I have worked so hard to get here. My second q is how do i re-priotise i.e. make it arabic my first priorty and dance my second. Its getting difficult. But i am in mental torture. I know been able to learn is a big blessing and I thank allah for it each time, it is awesome, learning something new.

    Since you know my previous plight I was hoping you could adivce.

    I apologise for the big splurge!

    SRae

    • Walaykum asalam warahmatullah,

      I hope you’re doing well inshaa’Allah.

      It’s been long enough since you’ve been struggling.
      To me your passion of dancing seems to be linked to you feeling satisfied with how you look. While it’s good to remain healthy and strive for a healthy body, at the same time, it shouldn’t be given such a high importance that it demolishes your positive feelings of mental well-being.

      Feelings of resentment just because your clothes which were before loose and now stick to your body, clearly shows it’s more of a psychological struggle you’re dealing with. And we all have those struggles…I mean I have my own set of fears.

      It only gets dangerous when these fears take over our lives. I’m not a psychologist so I am hesitant to say anything beyond my capacity but I could give you some sisterly advice.

      But before that advice, I want to know whether the dance practice involves any music? Some aerobic practices don’t so I want to verify that before I can offer any advice.

      Please let me know and I’ll modulate my answer/advice from there.
      -UmmS.

  6. thank you for your advice. Yes its does involved music, but it is predominately basic beats, thankfully I have got rid of vulgar music. I had a strange dream lastnight, the feelings which stayed with me. I need to change my priorities inshallah where allah swt comes first. Thus my time will be arranged as so, my obligations to allah first and dunia (dance) second. I am working on that order of priorites. So far I have given more precedence to deen (rightfuly so) but at the expense of dance. The feelings of guilt have been tugging at me and I have been turning around to saying to them not now. But I need to realise that this is just a temporary life, that I get so busy with this that I will lose my focus on what I really should be doing. It is a test for me. Allah swt will question me what did i I do with my time. I may think that I am doing good by keeping farz but what good is that when there is much more I can be doing. It is something that I need to think about I guess. With the dance thing I love the discipline to be honest and the peak the human body has a potential it can reach and the skills that one can acquire. But what good is this – this body i will feed and work hard on will one day die. I am tinking out aloud now, so forgive me for sharing my irregular thoughts.

    I await your reply. I hope I have not expressed myself incorrectly, it is difficult words can sometimes convey the wrong thing. what I wrote above was just an explosion of my feelings. SOme clarity is being achieved please pray a dua that allah swt makes it easy for me please. ur advice before helped me immensly before so this is why I turned to you again, i thank allah for your compainionshipo and the efforts you take to give us repsonses. I was hoping through my dance I could teach people that I am a person who appreciates dance but my deen also. A form of dawah work, especially when so many people think badly of muslims. I remembr how you posted a video about a young man who exclled at basketball but he was a muslim – do you recall? The level of passion he had for this sport this is waht I have for dance. Allahamdillah I found a female teacher soi I felt belessed as she too has a strong spritiual sense. So you see my passion is founded in many areas. I want a good body for myself and nobody else. I like having it and hiding it.

    Jkahir , may you have a blessed friday, god bless you umm sulaim.x

    • Dearest Sister: Asalamoalaykum warahmatullah,

      It is good that you’re thinking out loud. Maybe this way you will reach to a better solution and/or strategy.

      A scholar once said Quraan and music cannot remain in the same heart.

      Another thing:
      Correct intentions do not purify wrong actions and incorrect intentions do not purify correct actions.

      I want you to be your own judge and let your heart give you the verdict. Once you come to a conclusion, you can always come back and ask me what I think. For now, please do not ask people to tell you what to do when you already know the answer.

      I guess just stop overthinking and do what you have to do.
      Thank you for your extremely kind words but it is Allah SWT who helps people. I’m just part of His Plan and am myself in need of any good that can come to me.

      May Allah SWT bless you always.ameen.

      Please remember me in your duaas,
      -UmmS.

Leave a Reply

